Press Release: Alan Committie & Africa Melane brings flair to the the 49th FDC Awards

March 13, 2014

A music legend from the 1950s meets up with young dynamic talent to celebrate the 49th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards, directed by Lara Bye at the Baxter Theatre on Sunday 16th March at 6pm.


The legendary Dorothy Masuka, accompanied by guitarist Bheki Khoza, heads up the dynamic line up at this year's 49th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards to be held at the Baxter Theatre on Sunday 16th March 2014. Other top performers include the outstanding Cape Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, the Ubuntu B-Boys, fresh from a three month stint in Germany, and Jazzart Dance Theatre.


These artists will all enrich the rhythm of the event and perpetuate the onstage 'party vibe' that Lara Bye, the director will be creating. Faheem Bardien will design the lighting by creating the sparkle and razzmatazz that audiences have come to expect from the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards.


Comedian Alan Committie and talk show host Africa Melane will be bringing their usual flair and charm to the proceedings. The Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards is widely recognised as one of South Africa's premier events and is high on the Mother City’s cultural calendar for 2014. It attracts the crème de la crème of the country’s theatre fraternity - from performers to those behind the scenes – all of those who contribute to make the Cape’s theatre scene so vibrant and successful. The awards became known as the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards in 1978, being named after one of Distell’s leading wine brands.


It was named the Three Leaf Awards at its inception in 1965. Every year prizes are given to outstanding individuals for theatre excellence, specifically focusing on professional theatre productions staged in the Cape Town Metropole and surrounds. Awards are presented in twenty different categories and this year the panel of judges made their decisions after having viewed almost 84 productions, hosted in several venues in and around Cape Town in 2013.


For a production to qualify, a run of a minimum of eight performances over a period of three weeks at the same venue is required. Winners are awarded a beautiful silver medallion and R15, 000. The judges for the 2013 productions were Africa Melane, Coreen Lloyd, Dr Beverley Brommert, Dr Gabriël Botma, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Jill Markram, Len Ashton, Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Rone Arendse, Johan van Lill, Eugene Yiga and Tracey Saunders.


The Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards is an initiative of the *Distell Foundation and it forms part of Distell’s Corporate Social Investment Programme, which is dedicated to support the development of the creative arts industry in South Africa. Tickets to the Awards at the Baxter Theatre on Sunday 16th March at 6pm cost R150 per person and include canapés and Fleur du Cap wines.


Follow the Awards on

Twitter: @FDCTheatreAward




Press release provided by Allison Foat, Diva PR.

Please reload

© Loots Digital (Pty) Ltd 2019